Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia has been declared winner by the Electoral Commission in the presidential primary of the New Patriotic Party (NPP).

After garnering 118, 210 votes constituting 61.43% of the total valid votes cast, Dr. Bawumia surpassed the 50% + 1 votes required by a candidate to become flag bearer of the party.

His closest contender, Kennedy Ohene Agyapong obtained 71, 996 out of the 192,446 valid votes cast making 37.41%.

Former Minister of Agriculture, Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto obtained 1,459 which formed 0.76% of the votes with Francis Addai-Nimoh trailing behind the three with 9,781 which is 0.41%.

According to the EC, total rejected ballot stood at 900 making the Total votes cast 193, 346.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *